Six new Board Members for GEDC

Date published: 20/08/2014

Regional Development Minister Terry Redman today announced the appointments of six new members to the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission (GEDC), including new chairman Tony Crook.

Mr Redman said the GEDC  was responsible for the Goldfields-Esperance Revitalisation Plan and a strong and efficient leadership was needed to deliver crucial community initiatives.

Former Member for O’Connor Tony Crook has been appointed to the position of chairman of the commission, while current board member John Bowler has been appointed to the position of deputy chairman.

Other new board appointments are Malcolm Heasman, Gail Adamson-Reynolds, Kate Fielding, Christine Boase and Kevin Doig. The term of current board member Ron Yuryevich has been extended for 12 months while fellow board member Matthew Taylor will continue to serve his current term to 2016.

“This is an important milestone in providing stability and reinvigorated leadership to the GEDC,” the Minister said.

The new appointments to the board bring a diverse set of expertise and experience, with backgrounds in mining, local government, Aboriginal affairs, tourism, small business and education.

“I am confident the new chairman will bring a wealth of knowledge to his new role and will help the commission capitalise on the growing opportunities in the Goldfields-Esperance region.

The process of recruiting a permanent chief executive officer is approaching the final stages and it is expected an announcement will be made shortly.