$4.06 million for new indoor sporting stadium in Esperance

Date published: 6/12/2016

The long awaited Esperance Indoor Sports Stadium will receive $4.06 million in Royalties for Regions from the Goldfields-Esperance Revitalisation (GER) Fund.

Today the Minister for Regional Development, the Hon Terry Redman, visited Esperance to announce funding towards a new, fit-for-purpose and future-proof indoor sports and recreation precinct for the residents of the greater Esperance region.

Chair of the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission (GEDC), Kate Fielding, said that “The existing Esperance Indoor Sports Stadium is no longer fit-for-purpose and the redevelopment will cater for an increase in user groups and patrons accessing quality facilities that meet the minimum sporting standards for a number of state sporting associations.”
Ms. Fielding also highlighted that “the new facility will also allow Esperance to attract and host large conferences, road-shows and expos likely to bring increased economic activity to our region.” 

The $7.8 million project will be delivered by the Shire of Esperance in two stages. Stage one will provide three competition-standard indoor courts, kiosk, kitchen and match day facilities, plus modern change-rooms and dedicated storage space. Stage two will see the redevelopment of the current Noel White Pavilion to provide sports administration office space, community meeting rooms, a function room and additional storage space for users.

Providing quality sporting and recreational facilities in regional centres is vital for ensuring local community members have the opportunity to come together in safe environment to enhance their health and well-being.
Investing Royalties for Regions in projects such as the Esperance Indoor Sports Stadium, will help to build a vibrant and sustainable region.

Featuring in the picture are from left to right, Dave Grills, MLC, Victoria Brown, Esperance Shire President, Minister for Regional Development Terry Redman, Graham Jacobs, MLA, Graham Mackenzie of the EISS Management Committee.